Micro apartment Microliving

Microliving – big opportunity for small spaces

Where living spaces are shrinking, innovative room concepts are needed: Microliving is synonymous with an urban lifestyle and smart mini-apartments. Sliding solutions enable great comfort within a small living area.

Small but diverse

Swiss architects and room researchers from «kollektivorort» have devoted themselves to the subject of Microliving. In addition to historical and contextual classification they also examined the question of which structural/spatial means can help to give the “small ones” diversity.

You can get a comprehensive overview of Microliving and discover the creative impulses in the White Paper entitled “Microliving – Small but diverse”.

Free White Paper

Discover the space miracle

The number one trick to gain more space: replacing unwieldy hinged doors with elegant sliding doors. Our floorplan of a micro-apartment demonstrates how this works.

Micro apartment floorplan

Vistas in close quarters

Saving space with sliding doors means planning rooms with care. Together with Nathalie Birkhäuser and Roman Venzin, first-prize winners of the Hawa Student Award 2020, we drew a sample floorplan that offers lots of flexible design options.

Download floorplan (.dxf) Download Microliving Flyer

Ideas for Asia’s architecture scene

Singapore is considered the gate to Asia’s markets. The Hawa Experience Center has developed into an inspiration platform for architects and designers. In a short film, Stefano Mattioli, head of Hawa Sliding Solutions Asia and the Pacific explains how compact rooms can be efficiently used with sliding solutions.

Watch video now

The future of urban living

Every day, more people move to the world's major cities. To keep quality of life high in such a high-density environment, far-sighted strategies for urban centers and intelligent forms of living are needed.

The Hawa Student Award 2020 went in search of precisely those things – and found them. The winning projects present ideas for small apartments and common rooms for the site of the long-distance bus terminal in the center of Zurich.

Hawa Student Award

Swiss Architecture Award Hawa

Tiny but shiny

They are compact, sustainable and often mobile: the phenomenon known as “tiny houses.” Following the saying “less is more,” these mini houses bring together all the necessities of life within a very compact space.

And naturally, many constructing engineers rely on sliding solutions from Hawa Sliding Solutions.

aVOID by Leonardo di Chiara Mini-one by Rainer Borcherding

Reference Project Tiny House

“Micro” pays off many times over

Central location, practical infrastructure, fair costs – Microliving enables many people to enjoy an urban lifestyle. At the same time, the trend offers tangible advantages for investors.

  • High growth potential

    Single-person households are the most common type of household in Europe. New available apartments have been slow to capitalize on this development, however. Micro-apartments therefore represent a growth market.

  • Attractive service package

    Aside from living space, Microliving developments often offer furnished units, common infrastructure – from a game room to gym – and services for tenants. This enables higher rents.

  • Market-indexed pricing strategies

    Microliving follows its own rules: many people are intentionally looking for a temporary apartment, with time-limited leases. This makes it possible to offer an attractive mix of both tenants and pricing strategies.

  • Effective risk distribution

    Different factors are involved in financing Microliving projects compared to office complexes and apartment developments. This is one reason that investors would do well to consider micro-apartments, for diversification reasons.

Microliving Apartments Fulton

Large floor plan, compact building

360° perspective on the megatrend microliving

Slide Magazin #2

Microliving in numbers

Micro-apartments are not the same as student apartments. Instead micro-apartments are gaining in popularity among more and more target groups – business people, expats, seniors and travelers. So we've identified the key drivers of this trend.

Solo is “in”
Living alone? A hundred years ago, hardly anyone would voluntarily agree to it. Purely out of great need, mainly widows, widowers and students would put up with such lodgings.

In the meantime, a radical change has taken place. The number one type of living situation in Europe is now the single-person household. One third of all households are composed of just one person. Sweden tops the charts of this trend globally, where more than half of all households have only one person. In Switzerland, the figure is 35 percent.

This societal development is expected to influence the apartment market over the longer-term. Previously apartments for singles were simply a smaller version of an apartment intended for an entire family. The future is likely to see the creation of smart mini-apartments – as part of the Microliving trend – that are entirely tailored to the needs of their occupants.
Living spaces are shrinking
The bigger, the better: for decades this mantra governed the design of residential living areas in major industrialized nations. As a result, living spaces rose in size in line with economic growth. But a decade ago, signs of a change in this trend began to appear.

In cities around the world, the average per capita living space may have fallen in recent years – yet living comfort has not. After all, new living concepts combined with intelligent room design enable better use of space.

Average living space per residential unit in Switzerland, by construction period

2001 - 2005 131 square meters
2006 - 2010 125 square meters
2011 - 2015 115 square meters
2016 - 2018 105 square meters
How small is “micro”?
Microliving is currently a hot topic among city planners. What exactly the term means always depends on context – on the project planners as well as the geographical location. In central Europe, Microliving refers to living space of around 30 square meters. In Asia the figure is smaller while in the US, it is larger.

Small living spaces are hardly new when it comes to city planning. Back in 1995, one in every five city dwellers in the world had only 20 square meters available, according to a United Nations study.
Metropolis – a new dream destination?
When welcoming their first child, many couples previously dreamed of an idyllic rural life and turned their backs to the city. That has changed. As pulsating nodes of contemporary experience, many metropolises around the world offer higher quality of life than outlying villages that have become rundown ghost towns.

The United Nations forecasts sound like revolution: four in five Europeans will live in a city by 2050. They are then estimated to number around 600 million people – 44 million more than today.

In 1950, there were just two cities with more than 10 million residents: Tokyo and New York City.
By 2010, there were already more than 26 megacities.
By 2030, the world will have an estimated 43 megacities.
Dwelling alone, living together
Now in its fifth edition, Hawa Sliding Solutions has issued a call for submissions to up-and-coming architects from Switzerland, Germany and Austria for the most future-oriented solutions. The Hawa Student Award 2020 focused on developing plans for a block of 250 to 300 mini-apartments and common spaces – specifically for a disused property located in central Zurich.

Of the 36 submissions, in the end the jury selected three high-rise projects. A special issue of Hochparterre introduces the ideas that drive this next generation of architects.

Hawa product range

A great deal can be moved using the solutions from Hawa. The fitting systems enable barrier-free sliding, folding and stacking up to 500 kg – on buildings, in buildings, and on furniture.

www.hawa.ch

EKU product range

The solutions from EKU improve the functionality and design of furniture as well as interior design solutions. The product range includes sliding fittings for up to 100 kg.

www.eku.ch

Hawa Student Award 2020 – Microliving

The Hawa Student Award is among the most prestigious awards for architecture students in Switzerland, Germany and Austria. Microliving was the central theme of the 2020 competition. Check out the surprising solutions proposed by the next generation of architects for high quality of life within a compact area.

Hawa Student Award 2020

Beispiel Mikroapartment

Microliving – grosse Chance für kleine Räume

Wo sich der Wohnraum verknappt, sind innovative Raumkonzepte gefragt: Microliving steht für einen urbanen Lebensstil und smarte Kleinstwohnungen. Mit Schiebelösungen liegt viel Komfort auf wenigen Quadratmetern drin.

Vielfalt im Kleinen

Die Schweizer Architekten und Raumforscher vom «kollektivorort» haben sich dem Thema Microliving gewidmet. Neben der historischen und kontextuellen Einordnung sind sie unter anderem der Frage nachgegangen, welche baulich-räumlichen Mittel dem „Kleinen“ zu einer Vielfalt verhelfen.

Verschaffen Sie sich einen vielfältigen Überblick rund um Microliving und entdecken Sie die kreativen Impulse im White Paper «Microliving – Vielfalt im Kleinen».

Gratis White Paper

Entdecken Sie das Raumwunder.

Trick Nummer eins, um Platz zu gewinnen: Sperrige Drehtüren gezielt durch elegante Schiebetüren ersetzen. Unser Grundriss eines Mikroapartments zeigt, wie es geht.

Mikroapartment Hawa

Weite in der Enge

Platz sparen mit Schiebetüren heisst, Räume sorgfältig planen. Zusammen mit Nathalie Birkhäuser und Roman Venzin, den Gewinnern des ersten Preises des Hawa Student Award 2020, haben wir einen Mustergrundriss mit viel Gestaltungsspielraum gezeichnet.

Grundriss (.dxf) entdecken Download Microliving Flyer

Ideen für Asiens Architekturszene

Singapur gilt als Tor zu Asiens Märkten. Das Hawa Experience Center hat sich hier zu einer Inspirationsplattform für Architekten und Designern entwickelt. Stefano Mattioli, Leiter von Hawa Sliding Solutions Asien und pazifischer Raum, erklärt in einem Kurzfilm, wie sich die engen Raumverhältnisse mit Schiebelösungen effizient nutzen lassen.

Jetzt Video schauen

So hat urbanes Wohnen Zukunft

Täglich drängen mehr Menschen in die Metropolen der Welt. Damit die Lebensqualität im dichten Miteinander gelingt, braucht es weitsichtige Strategien für urbane Zentren und intelligente Wohnformen.

Letztere hat der Architekturwettbewerb Hawa Student Award 2020 gesucht – und gefunden. Die Gewinnerprojekte präsentieren Ideen für Kleinwohnungen und Gemeinschaftsräume fürs Areal des Fernbusbahnhofs mitten in Zürich.

Das Schweizer Architekturmagazin Hochparterre dokumentiert die Siegerprojekte in einem exklusiven Themenheft.

Download Hochparterre Hawa Student Award

Hawa Student Award Microliving

Tiny but shiny

Sie sind kompakt, nachhaltig und oft mobil: die «Tiny Houses». Nach dem Motto «weniger ist mehr» vereinen diese Minihäuser alles Lebensnotwendige auf engstem Raum.

Klar, dass viele Konstrukteure auf Schiebebeschläge von Hawa Sliding Solutions setzen.

aVOID von Leonardo di Chiara Mini-one von Rainer Borcherding

Fahrbares Tiny House Beispiel

«Micro» zahlt sich mehrfach aus

Zentrale Lage, praktische Infrastruktur, faire Kosten – Microliving ermöglicht vielen Menschen einen urbanen Lebensstil. Zugleich bietet der Trend handfeste Vorteile für Investoren.

  • Hohes Wachstumspotenzial

    Single-Haushalte bilden in Europa die häufigste Wohnform. Das Wohnungsangebot hinkt dieser Entwicklung hinterher. Mikroapartments stellen einen Wachstumsmarkt dar.

  • Attraktives Servicepaket

    Microliving-Siedlungen bieten nebst Wohnraum oft Möblierungen, gemeinsame Infrastrukturen – vom Game-Raum bis zum Fitnessstudio – und Services für die Mietenden. Dies erlaubt höhere Mieten.

  • Marktgerechte Preisstrategien

    Microliving folgt eigenen Gesetzen: Viele Menschen suchen etwa gezielt eine «Wohnung auf Zeit», mit befristeten Mietverträgen. Dies macht interessante Mietermix- und Preisstrategien möglich.

  • Wirkungsvolle Risikostreuung

    Die Bewirtschaftung von Microliving-Projekten hängt von anderen Faktoren ab als jene von Bürokomplexen und Wohnsiedlungen. Darum sind Mikroapartments für Investoren auch aus Diversifikationsgründen eine Überlegung wert.

Microliving Beispiel Hawa

Grosser Plan, kleiner Bau

360°-Perspektive auf den Megatrend Microliving

Slide Magazin #2

Microliving in Zahlen

Mikroapartments sind kein Synonym für Studentenwohnungen. Vielmehr gewinnt die Wohnform bei immer mehr Zielgruppen an Beliebtheit – bei Geschäftsleuten, Expats, Senioren und Reisenden. Wir haben die wichtigsten Treiber des Trends identifiziert.

Solo ist «in»
Alleine wohnen? Das tat sich vor hundert Jahren kaum jemand freiwillig an. Nur aus Not begnügten sich Witwen, Witwer sowie Studentinnen und Studenten mit solchen Unterkünften.

Seither hat ein radikaler Wandel stattgefunden. Die Wohnform Nummer eins in Europa bilden heute die Single-Haushalte. Ein Drittel aller Haushalte werden von nur einer Person geführt. Weltweit an der Spitze liegt Schweden. Hier lebt in über der Hälfte aller Haushalte gerade mal eine Person. In der Schweiz ist dies in 35 Prozent der Fälle so.

Diese gesellschaftliche Entwicklung dürfte sich längerfristig deutlich im Wohnungsmarkt abzeichnen. Bisher waren Singlewohnungen die geschrumpfte Version einer Familienwohnung. Künftig dürften smarte Kleinwohnungen im Sinn von Microliving entstehen, die ganz auf die Bedürfnisse ihrer Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner zugeschnitten sind.
Die Wohnflächen schrumpfen
Je grösser, desto besser: Dieses Mantra galt jahrzehntelang für die Wohnflächen in den Industriestaaten. In der Folge sind diese mit dem Wirtschaftswachstum gestiegen. Bis sich vor einem Jahrzehnt eine Trendwende abzeichnete.

In Städten rund um den Globus sind die durchschnittlichen Wohnflächen pro Person in den letzten Jahren gesunken – nicht aber der Wohnkomfort. Denn neue Wohnkonzepte kombiniert mit einer intelligenten Raumgestaltung ermöglichen eine bessere Nutzung des Raums.

Durchschnittliche Wohnfläche pro Wohneinheit nach Bauperiode in der Schweiz

2001 - 2005 131 Quadratmeter
2006 - 2010 125 Quadratmeter
2011 - 2015 115 Quadratmeter
2016 - 2018 105 Quadratmeter
Wie klein ist «mikro»?
Unter Stadtplanern ist Microliving derzeit in aller Munde. Was darunter genau zu verstehen ist, hängt aber immer vom Kontext ab – von den Projektplanern genauso wie von den geografischen Breitengraden. In Mitteleuropa spricht man bei Wohnflächen um 30 Quadratmeter von Microliving. In Asien sind die Massstäbe dafür kleiner, in den USA grösser.

Kleine Wohnflächen stellen in der Stadtplanung kein Neuland dar: So standen anno 1995 jedem fünften Stadtbewohner auf der Welt nur 20 Quadratmeter zur Verfügung, gemäss einer Studie der Vereinten Nationen.
Metropolis – ein neuer Sehnsuchtsort?
Mit dem ersten Kind sehnten sich bisher viele Paare nach der Idylle auf dem Land und kehrten dem Stadtleben den Rücken. Das hat sich geändert. Metropolen als pulsierende Knotenpunkte des Zeitgeschehens versprechen heute vielerorts mehr Lebensqualität als zu Geisterortschaften verkommene periphere Dörfer.

Die Prognosen der Vereinten Nationen klingen nach Umbruch: Vier von fünf Europäern sollen bis 2050 in Städten leben. Ihre Anzahl wird auf rund 600 Millionen Menschen geschätzt – 44 Millionen mehr als heute.

1950 gab es zwei Städte mit mehr als 10 Millionen Einwohnern: Tokio und New York City.
2010 zählt man schon über 26 Megacities.
2030 soll es 43 Megastädte geben.
Alleine wohnen, miteinander leben
Schon zum fünften Mal hat Hawa Sliding Solutions unter angehenden Architektinnen und Architekten aus der Schweiz, Deutschland und Österreich nach zukunftsweisenden Lösungen gesucht. Beim Hawa Student Award 2020 ging es darum, Entwürfe für 250 bis 300 Miniapartments und gemeinschaftlich genutzte Räume zu entwickeln – und zwar ganz konkret: für ein Restgrundstück mitten in Zürich.

Unter den 36 eingereichten Arbeiten haben sich drei Hochhausprojekte bei der Fachjury durchgesetzt. Ein Themenheft von Hochparterre stellt die Ideen der nächsten Architektengeneration vor.

Hawa Sortiment

Mit den Lösungen von Hawa lässt sich viel bewegen: Die Beschlagsysteme machen das barrierefreie Schieben, Falten und Stapeln bis 500 kg möglich – am Bau, im Bau und am Möbel.

www.hawa.ch

EKU Sortiment

Die Lösungen von EKU verbessern Funktionalität und Design von Möbeln und im Innenausbau. Im Sortiment finden sich Schiebebeschläge für bis 100 kg.

www.eku.ch

Hawa Student Award 2020 – Microliving

Der Hawa Student Award zählt zu den begehrtesten Auszeichnungen für Studierende der Architektur in der Schweiz, in Deutschland und in Österreich. Im Zentrum seiner Ausgabe 2020 stand das Microliving. Schauen Sie sich die überraschenden Lösungen der nächsten Generation von Architektinnen und Architekten an, um viel Lebensqualität auf wenig Fläche zu schaffen.

Hawa Student Award 2020